Wednesday, February 1, 2012

VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize 2011 Category Winners Announced

The 2011 VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize category winners have been announced. The prize is open to all Australian undergraduate students who are currently completing their final or honours year at an Australian University.

This year 17 applications were received from nine Australian Universities, with a host of Australian industry experts reviewing the applications to determine the category winners.

This years category winners include:

Lyle Roberts from The Australian National University 
High-Speed Digitally Enhanced Heterodyne Interferometry

Geology and Planetary Geology: 
Cynthia Rathini Mahendran from the University of Technology Sydney 
Modelling the age relation of impact crater profiles on Mars

Space Physics and Astrophysics: 
Paul Stewart from The University of Sydney 
Postcard from the Edge of the Solar System: Cassini’s Ringside View of Mira

Data Processing and Electronics: 
Anthony Cheetham from The University of Sydney 
Cophasing JWST’s Segmented Mirror Using Sparse Aperture Interferometry

Biology and Human Physiology: 
Amy Spark from Monash University 
Injectable Tissue Scaffolds: Using Hollow Nanofibres to Form Hybrid Gels

All Category winners will now be submitting a seperate application to NASA who will determine the final VSSEC-NASA Australian Space prize winner in March. The ultimate prize winner will spend 10 weeks at the NASA Academy, working directly with a lead scientist or engineer.

For more information on the VSSEC-NASA prize and this years winners, head here.

Congratulations to all Category winners!

No comments:

Post a Comment