Sunday, February 6, 2011

VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize 2010 Category Winners Announced

The 2010 VSECC-NASA Australian Space Price Category Prize winners have just been anounced, however we'll have to wait until March to find out the overall Prize winner.

The VSEC-NASA Australian Space prize gives one (very lucky) Australian undergraduate student to spend 10 weeks working along side a NASA scientist or engineer as part of the NASA Academy Program at Ames Research Center, Goddard Flight Center or Marshall Flight Center. The four category winners will now be asked to explain their chosen research topic to NASA, and outline what the chance to attend the NASA academy would mean to them. NASA will then decide the the winner in March of 2011.

The four category winners include:

Category: Space Engineering:
Winner: Joel Cappelli from the University of Sydney
Topic: CliffRider: The Abseiling Face Inspection Robot

Category: Geology and Planetary Geology:
Winner: Emily Bathgate from the University of Technology Sydney
Sub-ice Volcanism on Mars

Category: Space Physics and Astrophysics:
Winner: Kate Snow from the University of Wollongong
Determining the Vertical Profile of Reflectivity for Long-Range Radar Measurements

Category: Data Processing and Electronics
Winner: Matthew Steventon from the University of Adelaide
ASRI Multi-Stage Launch Vehicle: Mechatronics

This follows the successful winner of the 2009 VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize: Elizabeth Blaber, from the School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences at the University of New South Wales, who investigated the influence of microgravity on human cellular function at NASA. You can find her blog here.

For those who are interested in finding out more about the VSSEC-NASA Australian Space Prize - head here.

No comments:

Post a Comment